Meet Dr. Chirag “Chi” Patel

chirag patel, a pharmacist in charlotte, NC

Name: Dr. Chirag Patel

Degree(s) Earned: PharmD , MBA

Alma Mater(s): Ferris State University

Graduation Year: 2009

Hometown: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Position: Chief Operating Officer and Carolina Pharmacy Brand Ambassador

Location: Carolina Pharmacy Group

Dr. Chirag Patel

PharmD, MBA – Chief Operating Officer, Brand Ambassador – Carolina Pharmacy Group (Owner)

Chirag (Chi) was born and raised in Toronto, Canada. After graduating from Pharmacy School in Michigan (Ferris State University) with his pharmacist license, Chi moved to Texas, where he worked for Walgreens Pharmacy. 

During his time as a staff pharmacist with Walgreens, Chi amassed countless hours of experience running the busiest and most difficult 24-hour pharmacies in the country. Looking for a change and wanting to return to the East Coast, Chi moved to Charlotte, where he met Vic and formed the Carolina Pharmacy Group, a series of pharmacies in Charlotte, NC

In less than 10 years, with a mission to focus exclusively on the health of the patient, Chi has helped the Carolina Pharmacy Group to grow to 6 pharmacies in the Charlotte area. Chi is the Chief Operating Officer, Head of Marketing and HR, and Brand Ambassador.

Why did you become a pharmacist?
“I became a pharmacist because pharmacists–from the pharmacy technician to the clinical pharmacist–are trusted professionals in their communities and are directly involved in helping patients achieve desirable health outcomes through long term care and service. This is true of our work in our Charlotte pharmacy offices.”
What occupies most of your spare time?
“In my spare time, I enjoy watching and attending sporting events, spending time with my wife and my children, travelling to new places, and trying new foods and eateries.”
Favourite sports teams?
“I have quite a few favorite sports teams, including: the Raptors (from Toronto), the Maple Leafs, the Blue Jays, the Carolina Panthers, and the Liverpool Football Club.”
Favourite food?
“My favorite foods are pizza and sushi.”
Country you most want to visit?
“Japan.”
Favourite place to travel to?
“London, England and Toronto, Canada.”
Brief info about your family?
“My wife is also from Toronto, and we have been married for six years. We have 2 beautiful babies who take up 99% of our time.”
Interesting fact about you?
“All of the people in my family were born in a different country or on a different continent.”
If you had to select one person to portray you in a documentary about your life, who would it be? Why?
“Brad Pitt, because we are spitting images of one another.”